Derek Lunsford Wins the 2023 Mr. Olympia

source :

Image courtesy of Instagram (@mrolympiallc)

The Mr. Olympia 2023 has just come and gone and Derek Lunsford is officially the first ever two-time Olympia Division champion

Joe Weider’s Olympia Fitness & Performance Weekend is the largest bodybuilding show in the world, attracting professional bodybuilders and fans from all over the world. The Olympia 2023 returned to the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando this weekend, November 2-5 for the third time in four years. The event took place in Las Vegas last year, but returned east Big Ramy won two in a row in 2020 and 2021. This year, however, there was a new champion. Derek Lunsford becomes the first Mr. Olympia winning two divisions, in which he demonstrated his exceptional well-being in the competition.

Mr. Olympia 2023

With a stacked Men’s Open class it came down to just five huge and fragmented competitors consisting of Andrew Jacked, Brandon Curry, Samson Dauda, ​​last year’s champion Hadi Choopan and new champion Derek Lunsford.

Last year, after Lunsford received a special invitation to compete in the men’s open, moving up from 212 champion, he found himself right on the heels of Hadi Choopan. After both being coached for a year by Hany Rambod, who also coaches five-time Classic Physique champion Chris Bumstead, the Mr. Olympia down to these two again.

However, instead of emcee, Bob Cicherello announcing the words “and still”, the words that came out were “and new”, indicating that Lunsford was the Mr. Olympia title. This makes Derek Lunsford the first ever two-time Olympia Division champion as he had won the title in the 212 division and the open division. Fans will always remember the night Lunsford etched his name into the coveted Sandow Trophy.

Derek Lunsford wins the Mr. Olympia

Top Ten Mr. Olympia contenders

  • First Place – Derek Lunsford ($400,000)
  • Second Place – Hadi Choopan ($150,000)
  • Third Place – Samson Dauda ($100,000)
  • Fourth Place – Brandon Curry ($40,000)
  • Fifth Place – Andrew Jacked ($35,000)
  • Sixth place – Hunter Labrada
  • Seventh place – Michal Krizo
  • Eighth place – Tonio Burton
  • Ninth place – Regan Grimes
  • Tenth place – Charles Griffen

Derek talks about Hany Rambod’s training

More Mr. Olympia coverage for 2023:

The Generation Iron team would like to congratulate the new champion, Derek Lunsford, on this victory. Generation Iron will continue to cover the Olympia 2023 all weekend long. For more news and updates, follow Generation Iron on Facebook, Tweetand Instagram.

source :

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button